The schools are back, and (more than ever) I’m really enjoying woking with my students at the Manhattan School of Music, Montclair State University, and now Purchase College. I seem to learn as much from them as they do from me.

Other fun things are going on as well: getting to play “Symphonic Dances from West Side Story” with the Philadelphia Orchestra at Verizon Hall and Carnegie Hall was a thrill. Pete Townshend’s “Quadrophenia” at the Metropolitan Opera was an amazing few nights of music. At Manhattan Brass began our residency at Marble Church with an exciting evening of brass quintet/organ music.

I look forward to seeing what the remainder of the fall brings!

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off on FALL FUN

New Affiliations

I’m excited to announce two new affiliations:

1) After years of playing my trusty Yamaha 6335 trumpet, I’m now officially a Yamaha artist. I really do feel that they are making some of the finest musical equipment. Coupled with my GR mouthpieces and Hub Van Laar flugelhorn, I feel that my musical arsenal is complete!

2) I’m very excited to be joining the brass team at Purchase College starting in the fall. This school combines a tremendous faculty, close proximity to NYC, and great value to give aspiring musicians everything they will need to be successful. I will also continue on at the Manhattan School of Music and Montclair State University as before. I’ve developed a strong love for teaching over the years, and look forward to working with all of these students from these schools!

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off on New Affiliations

GR Mouthpieces

I’m very pleased to announce that I’m now endorsing GR Technologies mouthpieces. A few months back, I visited Gary’s shop in Wisconsin. I initially planned to make the appointment to see him on a Friday (since I had a concert on Saturday in Chicago). But when I told him about the concert he said, “no one should be trying out new equipment the day before a gig – come see me on Sunday”. I was thrilled, never thinking anyone would open up their shop on a Sunday for a trumpet geek! So I came up on Sunday morning.

Gary spent over 7 hours straight with me. No food, no break…he was 100% invested in setting me up with the correct mouthpiece. His attention to detail is unlike anything I had ever seen. Through a series of playing tests and much trial and error, he came up with something that felt perfect to play on. GR is a superb craftsman.

In the coming weeks, I look forward to having the entire signature series available through this site.

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off on GR Mouthpieces